ADSAP


South Carolina State Law mandates that any South Carolina driver's license holder who has been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) to enroll and then successfully complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) before they can be eligible for relicensing by the South Carolina Department of Public Safety.

These same laws apply to individuals whose license has been suspended through the state's Administrative License Revocation (ALR) procedure. Drivers are subject to ALR if they are charged under the provisions known as "zero tolerance" (applies to drivers under the age of 21) or show a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or greater. An individual also is subject to ALR if he/she refuses to take a blood, breath or urine test for the presence of alcohol or other drugs.

The ultimate goal of the ADSAP program is to improve highway safety by providing assessment, education, intervention and/or treatment services for DUI offenders in an effort to reduce their risk of committing another DUI offense in the future. This program is available in every county in the State of South Carolina.

Individuals convicted of DUI FAQS

Yes, within 30 days of the conviction. The South Carolina Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) will not consider reinstating your driver's license until it receives notification of your successful completion of ADSAP.

You must contact any county alcohol drug abuse authority and tell them you need to enroll in ADSAP.

Immediately after you have been convicted for DUI.

After enrolling in the program, you will be assessed to determine the program areas that most likely contributed to your DUI. Goals you learn will be developed to address these areas. Education and /or treatment services will be provided to help you achieve your goals, thereby helping you reduce your risk of committing another DUI. Successful completion of the program isbased on whether you have reduced your risk of committing another DUI.

Because you will receive services based on individual needs, the time period for completion will vary. Generally, individuals complete ADSAP services by end of their suspension period; however, you must complete within one year of enrollment.

Yes. The cost for educational services provided through ADSAP is $500, while the cost for any treatment services required by program can cost up to $2,000. The total cost of all services cannot exceed $2,500.

First time offenders who meet certain requirements may obtain a provisional license from the SCDPS and may drive on this license for a period not to exceed 6 months, provided they continue to participate in ADSAP. Multiple offenders need to contact the DMV regarding the alternative driver's license.

There are several:

  • You must enroll in ADSAP and make satisfactory progress.
  • You must have had a valid South Carolina license, at the time of your conviction.
  • Your DUI conviction must be the first within a 10 year period.
  • Your license must not be suspended for any other reason.
  • You must provide proof of financial responsibility (SR22 insurance) to the SCDPS.
  • You must pay a $100 fee to SCDPS.

Several things:

  • Contact a South Carolina ADSAP representative.
  • You must participate in the services recommended by your assessment.
  • You may complete these services in another state, but you must first contact the Interstate ADSAP Office at the Dorchester County & Drug Commission. That phone number is (843) 871-4790.

You may be eligible for a S.C. provisional permit if you enroll in ADSAP, meet the provisional license requirements and maintain a valid out-of-state license.

Individuals whose licenses are suspended under ALR FAQS

There are several:

  • You must enroll in ADSAP and successfully complete the program. Your license may remain revoked until you have completed the program.
  • If you plan to contest the ALR, you will have 30 days from the notice of suspension to enroll in ADSAP, after 30 days the suspension remains in effect and an administrative hearing cannot be requested .
  • The Administrative Law Clerk will schedule an administrative hearing after receiving your hearing request.
  • If the suspension is sustained, you must enroll in ADSAP to regain your license.
  • If the suspension is rescinded, your license will be reinstated and any fees paid to ADSAP will be refund to you.