

Green Space Advisory Committee

Chair MICHAEL McSHANE Vice Chair ALICE HOWARD

Committee Members

TOM DAVIS
LAUREL RHOTEN
CARMEN AVON MANNING
TIMOTHY EVANS
T. PETER KRISTIAN

Interim County Administrator

JOHN ROBINSON

Administration Building

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex 100 Ribaut Road

Contact

Post Office Drawer 1228
Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-1228
(843) 255-2140
www.beaufortcountysc.gov

Green Space Advisory Committee Agenda

Monday, March 4, 2024 at 2:30 PM
Executive Conference Room
County Administration Building, 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, SC

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. FOIA PUBLIC NOTIFICATION OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN PUBLISHED, POSTED, AND DISTRIBUTED IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE SOUTH CAROLINA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT
- APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES JANUARY 31, 2024
- 5. INTRODUCTION OF GREEN SPACE PROGRAM ATTORNEY

ACTION ITEMS

- 6. **FEE SIMPLE APPLICATION**: WILLIAM HILTON PARKWAY, HILTON HEAD ISLAND; POLITICAL JURISDICTION TOWN OF HILTON HEAD; GEOGRAPHIC REGION SOUTHERN
- 7. **FEE SIMPLE APPLICATION**: JONESVILLE ROAD, HILTON HEAD ISLAND; POLITICAL JURISDICTION TOWN OF HILTON HEAD; GEOGRAPHIC REGION SOUTHERN
- 8. **FEE SIMPLE APPLICATION**: NEW RIVER TRACT (NO ROAD FRONTAGE), BLUFFTON; POLITICAL JURISDICTION TOWN OF BLUFFTON; GEOGRAPHIC REGION WESTERN

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- OTHER BUSINESS
- ADJOURNMENT

MINUTES

Green Space Advisory Committee

January 31, 2024, 10:30 AM, Executive Conference Room, Beaufort County Administration Building

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair McShane called the meeting to order at 10:33 AM. Chair McShane said there is quorum present today. He said Senator Davis may join the group virtually later. Chair McShane stated that public notification of the meeting had been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the SC Freedom of Information Act.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Timothy Evans
Alice Howard, Vice-Chair
T. Peter Kristian
Carmen Avon Manning
Michael McShane, Chair
Laurel Rhoten

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Tom Davis

STAFF PRESENT:

Chuck Atkinson, Assistant County Administrator, Development/Recreation
Mark Davis, Deputy Director, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department
Brian Hulbert, Deputy County Attorney
Thomas Keaveny, County Attorney Elected Officials
Robert Merchant, Director, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department
Juliana Smith, Long-Range Planner, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department

GUESTS PRESENT:

Mary Ryan Krieger, Deputy Community Plans and Liaison Officer, MCAS; Kate Schaefer, Director of Land Protection, Beaufort County Open Land Trust.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Peter Kristian made a motion to approve the agenda. Vice-Chair Howard seconded. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES - DECEMBER 6, 2023:

Chair McShane asked for a motion to approve the minutes. Carmen Avon Manning said her name was misspelled in the minutes. Carmen also said that at the December meeting, she had asked how many applications had been submitted, because only four applications were presented to the Green Space Advisory Committee. Chair McShane said the December minutes will be revised to show that five applications had been submitted, but only four applications moved forward. Peter Kristian made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 6 meeting as amended. Tim Evans seconded. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous.

UPDATE OF GREEN SPACE SALES TAX COLLECTION:

Mark Davis said as of the end of December, \$39,113,619 had been collected. Mark said the sales tax is generating funds as anticipated. Tom Keaveny said the sales tax is capped at two years or \$100,000,000 (whichever occurs first). He said Council wants this sales tax to roll off as it brings forward a transportation sales tax.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Chair McShane asked for a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss proposed contractual agreements for four Green Space applications. It was moved by Tim Evans and seconded by Peter Kristian to enter into an Executive Session pursuant to SC Code Section 30-4-70(a)(2). The vote to move into Executive Session was unanimous.

The Committee was in Executive Session from 10:40 AM to 12:09 PM.

MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECTIVE SESSION:

Chair McShane said the Committee had reviewed a number of applications today.

Conservation Easement Application, Gregorie Neck Road. Chair McShane asked for motion regarding the Gregorie Neck application as presented today. It was moved by Tim Evans and seconded by Laurel Rhoten to move the Gregorie Neck application forward to the Natural Resources Committee (now the Community Services and Land Use Committee) with no reservations. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous. Chair McShane asked Tom Keaveny to schedule the recommendation on this application with the Natural Resources Committee (now the Community Services and Land Use Committee) as soon as possible.

Fee Simple Application, Mitchelville Road. Chair McShane asked for a motion regarding the Mitchelville application as discussed, to continue working on due diligence regarding negotiations, financing, and management. Peter Kristian made that motion, seconded by Carmen Avon Manning. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous.

Conservation Easement Application, Half Moon Island. Chair McShane said there was discussion regarding additional due diligence. Chair McShane asked for a motion directing staff to work with the applicant regarding the formality of the appraisal and the conservation

easement. Peter Kristian made that motion, seconded by Tim Evans. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous.

Fee Simple Application, Ulmer Road. Chair McShane said there was discussion and asked for a motion regarding having staff further review the development plans, a third-party review of the appraisal while reserving the right to order a new one, and investigation of the tower regarding ownership, franchise, and longevity. Peter Kristian made that motion, seconded by Tim Evans. The vote to approve the motion was unanimous.

OTHER BUSINESS:

There was discussion regarding the date of the next meeting. Mark Davis said today is the deadline for the current round of applications. After some discussion, the group agreed the next meeting would be held on March 4 in the afternoon.

Peter Kristian thanked the staff for the due diligence, particularly the site visits. Chair McShane said that Committee members will always be invited to participate in the site visits in the geographic region they represent.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 12:20 PM.

Minutes compiled by Libby Anderson, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department