andort Courty Course

1998 Goals

- Goal 1 Adopt a FY 98-99 budget with no increase in taxes for County operations.
- Goal 2 Complete the Comprehensive Plan and prepare the necessary ordinances to implement the Plan.
- Goal 3 Develop and adopt a plan to raise library holdings to State standards in ten years without reliance on property tax.
- Goal 4 Develop a plan for construction of a Hilton Head Airport control tower using federal financial assistance.
- Goal 5 Identify and establish consistent, long-term funding for the creation, improvement, and maintenance of boat landings.
- Goal 6 Attract 650 new professional, skilled and semi-skilled jobs paying higher wages to further the County's ongoing effort to diversify its economy and promote upward mobility for its citizens.
- Goal 7 Formulate a plan for financing construction and maintenance of a stormwater management system.
- Goal 8 Review fire district boundaries in an initiative to ultimately create a County Fire Department.
- Goal 9 Implement a County-wide recycling program that encompasses all municipalities.
- Goal 10 Establish further commonality in development standards between the County and its municipalities.
- Goal 11 Enter into an agreement with Jasper County for coordination of planning efforts and permanent respect of mutual boundaries.
- Goal 12 Hold quarterly meetings with County officials, municipal officials, and the Legislative Delegation to discuss intergovernmental issues.
- Goal 13 Conduct and support a public referendum on the local funding share for the widening of SC Highway 170 from the Career Education Center to the City of Beaufort.

Vision Statement

Beaufort County will continue to be one of the most desirable places in the United States to live, work, and enjoy a sense of community in a culturally diverse coastal setting.

Mission Statement

Beaufort County government exists to serve all of its citizens in a cost-effective manner so every person may enjoy a protected quality of life, our natural and developed resources, a diverse heritage, and economic well-being.

Beaufort County Council

H. Emmett McCracken, Jr., Chairman
Charles R. (Ron) Atkinson, Vice Chairman
Frank Brafman
J. E. (Pete) Covington
Herbert N. Glaze
Dorothy P. Gnann
Elizabeth P. Grace
William L. McBride
Eva M. Smalls
Thomas C. Taylor
Leonard M. Tinnan

Office of the Chairman
Administration Building
100 Ribaut Road
P.O. Drawer 1228
Beaufort, SC 29901
Telephone: (843) 525-7100
FAX: (843) 525-7181
Web site: www.co.beaufort.sc.us