

Sales Tax Advisory Committee Beaufort County, SC

Council Chambers, Administration Building Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort

Thursday, October 12, 2023 5:30 PM

MINUTES

Watch the video stream available on the County's website to hear the committee's discussion of a specific topic or the complete meeting. <u>https://beaufortcountysc.new.swagit.com/videos/274465</u>

1. CALL TO ORDER

Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator - Infrastructure, called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m.

PRESENT

Carol Ruff Untron Solomon Morris Campbell Tom Lennox Charlie Wetmore

ABSENT

Dean Moss

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator -Infrastructure, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. FOIA

Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator -Infrastructure, noted that public notification of this meeting had been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: It was moved by Charlie Wetmore, seconded by Untron Solomon, to approve the agenda.

The Vote - The motion was approved without objection.

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion: N/A

6. <u>ELECTION</u>

Election of Chairman

Morris Campbel nominated Dean Moss to serve as Chairman.

Carol Ruff seconded the nomination for Dean Moss to serve as Chairman.

With no objections, Dean Moss was elected to serve as Chairman of the Sales Tax Advisory Committee.

Election of Vice Chairman

Carol Ruff nominated Charlie Wetmore to serve as Vice Chairman.

Untron Solomon seconded the nomination for Charlie Wetmore to serve as Vice-Chairman.

With no objections, Charlie Wetmore was elected to serve as Vice-Chairman for the Sales Tax Advisory Committee

7. Overview of Freedom of Information Act

Deputy County Attorney Brian Hulbert gave an overview of the Freedom of Information Act to the committee members

8. Adoption of Rules and Procedures

Deputy County Attorney Brian Hulbert gave an overview of Robert's Rules and Procedures.

Motion: It was moved by Charlie Wetmore, seconded by Carol Ruff to adopt Robert's Rules and Procedures

9. Overview of Last Year's Recommendation to Council

Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator – Infrastructure, discussed the memo to council that was presented by Chairman Dean Moss, Chairman of the 2022 Tax Advisory Committee.

10. Meeting Schedule

Motion: It was moved by Charlie Wetmore, seconded by Carol Ruff to approve weekly committee meetings to be held on Thursdays at 5:30pm.

Please watch the video stream available on the County's website to view the full discussion.

https://beaufortcountysc.new.swagit.com/videos/274465

11. ADJOURNMENT

Adjourned at or around 6:43 p.m.