

Beaufort County Airports Board Meeting

Chairman

TREY AMBROSE

Vice Chairman

HOWARD ACKERMAN

Committee Members

ANNE ESPOSITO

LESLIE ADLAM FLORY

JAMES BUCKLEY

CHRIS BUTLER

MARK BAILEY

BRIAN TURRISI

IAN SCOTT

THOMAS SHEAHAN

NICHOLAS MESENBURG

Airports Director

JON REMBOLD

County Administrator

ERIC GREENWAY

Administrative Assistant

Administration Building

Beaufort County Government Hilton Head Island Airport 120 Beach City Road Hilton Head Is, SC 29926

Contact

Post Office Drawer 1228
Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-1228
(843) 255-2942
www.beaufortcountysc.gov

Beaufort County Airports Board Agenda

Thursday, March 17, 2022, at 1:30 PM Hybrid Meeting

Town of Hilton Head Island, One Town Center Court, Hilton Head Island, SC

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 3. FOIA PUBLIC NOTIFICATION OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN
 PUBLISHED, POSTED, AND DISTRIBUTED IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE
 SOUTH CAROLINA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT
- 4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FEBRUARY 24, 2022
- 6. PUBLIC COMMENT (Limited to Three Minutes Each Person)
- DIRECTOR'S REPORT
 - SCAC COMMISSIONER REPORT ANNE ESPOSITO
- 8. UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- 9. NEW BUSINESS
 - TSA UPDATE TSA SOUTH CAROLINA FEDERAL SECURITY DIRECTOR DAVID McMAHON

MEETING LINK:

Meeting number (access code): 161 088 9726

Passcode: FLIGHT

ACTION ITEMS

- 10. AIRPORTS BIPARTISAN INFRASTRUCTURE LAW (BILL) GRANT FUNDS (VOTE)
- 11. BEAUFORT EXECUTIVE AIRPORT (ARW) FAA AIRPORT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM (AIP) GRANT FUNDING **(VOTE)**

COMMITTEE REPORTS

12. CHAIRMAN UPDATE

CITIZEN COMMENTS

- 13. CITIZEN COMMENT (Every member of the public who is recognized to speak shall limit comments to three minutes)
- 14. ADJOURNMENT

FUTURE MEETING

15. THE NEXT MEETING WILL BE HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 21, 2022, AT 1:30 PM. FOR MORE INFO, PLEASE <u>CLICK HERE</u>.

MINUTES

Beaufort County Airports Board

February 24, 2022 | 1:30 pm | Meeting called to order by Vice-Chairman Howard Ackerman

In Attendance

Howard Ackerman, James Buckley, Leslie Adlam Flory, Anne Esposito, Nicholas Mesenburg, Thomas Sheahan, Brian Turrisi, and Mark Bailey.

Absent: Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Chris Butler.

County Staff: Jon Rembold, Airports Director; Paul Dolin, Beaufort Executive Airport Supervisor; Elena Milbrandt, Accounts Payable Specialist.

Stewart Rodman - Chairman Beaufort County Council.

Public: David Ames - Town Council liaison to Airports Board; Glenn Stanford - Town Council liaison to Airports Board; Judy Elder – Talbert, Bright and Ellington, Inc.

Approval of Agenda

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Buckley and seconded by Ms. Esposito that the agenda be adopted. The <u>vote was FOR –</u> Howard Ackerman, Leslie Adlam Flory, James Buckley, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg, Thomas Sheahan, Ian Scott, Anne Esposito, and Mark Bailey. The agenda was approved as distributed.

AGAINST – None. ABSENT – Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Chris Butler.

Approval of Minutes

Motion: Mr. Sheahan moved it and seconded by Mr. Bailey that January 20, 2022, meeting minutes be approved. The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Howard Ackerman, Brian Turrisi, James Buckley, Leslie Adlam Flory, Thomas Sheahan, Nicholas Mesenburg, Anne Esposito, and Mark Bailey. The minutes were approved as distributed.

AGAINST - None. ABSENT - Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Chris Butler.

Public Comments

There were no public comments offered.

Director's Report - Beaufort County Airport Project Update

❖ TERMINAL RENOVATION PROJECT:

 Mr. Rembold briefed the board on the progress of the terminal renovation at Beaufort Executive Airport by showing pictures of "before" and "in progress."

Charts were previously submitted for AvGas, Jet A sales, and aircraft operations.

Director's Report – Hilton Head Island Airport Project Update

❖ PARKING APRON EXPANSION:

 Mr. Rembold briefed the board on the progress of the Hilton Head Island Airport parking apron expansion. This is an ongoing project, and asphalt is being installed as we speak. After that, concrete will be applied on top. More information to follow.

❖ 2022 EMPLOYEE HIGHLIGHTS:

 Hilton Head Island Airport Fire Rescue recently celebrated Esau Brown, Senior Firefighter's retirement after 28 years of service. Mr. Rembold thanked Esau for his hard work and total dedication to his job.

❖ WRIGHT BROTHERS MASTER PILOT AWARD:

 In recognition of his half-century of safe flight, Mr. Brian Turrisi was awarded the Federal Aviation Administration's Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award. Mr. Rembold congratulated Mr. Turrisi for his 50 years of piloting experience with a perfect record.

2021 SC FAAST TEAM REPRESENTATIVE OF THE YEAR-DISTRICT HONOREE:

 Mr. Rembold congratulated Mr. Ahern, former board member, for being recognized by the South Carolina Flight Standards District Office Safety Team (FAASTeam) on being named the 2021 SC FAAST Team Representative of the Year.

Charts were previously submitted for AvGas, Jet A sales, Total Aircraft Operations, and Enplanements /Deplanements.

Unfinished Business

N/A

New Business

1. MOTION TO APPROVE THE HILTON HEAD ISLAND AIRPORT (HXD) WA 18-03 TBI NO. 2119-1803, AMENDMENT 2

Ms. Flory made a Motion to approve the Hilton Head Island Airport (HXD) WA 18-03 TBI No. 2119-1803, Amendment 2, to move to the Public Facilities Committee meeting on February 22, 2022. Mr. James Buckley made a second to the motion.

The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Howard Ackerman, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg, Anne Esposito, Thomas Sheahan, Leslie Adlam, Mark Bailey, and James Buckley.

AGAINST - None. ABSENT: Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Chris Butler.

The motion for approval passes.

2. MOTION TO APPROVE THE HILTON HEAD AIRPORT (HXD) SCASDP GRANT APPLICATION

Ms. Esposito made a Motion to approve the Hilton Head Island Airport (HXD) SCASDP GRANT Application to move to the Public Facilities Committee meeting on February 22, 2022. Mr. Mesenburg made a second to the motion.

The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Howard Ackerman, Brian Turissi, Nicholas Mesenburg, Anne Esposito, Thomas Sheahan, Leslie Adlam, Mark Bailey, and James Buckley.

AGAINST – None. ABSENT: Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Chris Butler.

The motion for approval passes.

Chairman Update

1. Finance

Members: Howard Ackerman (Chair), Anne Esposito, Chris Butler, and Brian Turrisi.

• The Finance Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any developments.

2. Communications and Marketing

Members: Jim Buckley (Chair), Brian Turissi, and Leslie Adlam Flory.

♦ The Communications and Marketing Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

3. Passenger Service Committee

Members: Anne Esposito (Chair), Leslie Adlam Flory

◆ The Passenger Service Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

4. ARW Facilities Use and Improvement

Members: Chris Butler (Chair), Mark Bailey, and Trey Ambrose

◆ The ARW Facilities Use and Improvement Committee have nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

5. The Hilton Head Island Airport General Aviation Improvement Committee.

Members: Howard Ackerman and Brian Turrisi.

This Committee will focus on improvements on the General Aviation side of HXD only.

 Project Update: The Hilton Head Island General Aviation Improvement committee will inform you of any developments.

Public Comments

Mr. Stewart Rodman gave public comment.

Next Meeting

April 21, 2022 | 1:30 pm | Hybrid Meeting | Council Chambers, Administration Building, 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, SC. For more information, please click here:

www.beaufortcountysc.gov/events/2022/04/Airport%20Board%202022-04-21.html

Contact us -Social Media

Please like and share our <u>Facebook page</u> & <u>Instagram page</u>.

Check out our Website page as well.

Motion to adjourn was made at 2:19 pm and was passed unanimously.