# MINUTES

# Beaufort County Airports Board

November 18, 2021 |1:30 pm |WebEx Meeting called to order by Chairman Trey Ambrose

#### In Attendance

Trey Ambrose, Howard Ackerman, Anne Esposito, Leslie Adlam Flory, Chris Butler, and Ian Scott. Absent: James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan. County Staff: Jon Rembold, Airports Director; Stephen Parry, Assistant Airports Director; Paul Dolin, Beaufort Executive Airport Supervisor; Nathalie Numssen, Airports Administrative Assistant. Public: n/a.

# Approval of Agenda

Motion: Mr. Trey Ambrose made a motion to accept the agenda. The <u>vote was FOR-</u> Trey Ambrose, Howard Ackerman, Anne Esposito, Leslie Adlam Flory, Chris Butler, and Ian Scott.

The amended agenda was approved as distributed.

AGAINST –None. ABSENT James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

# Approval of Minutes

Motion: Mr. Trey Ambrose made a motion to accept the October 21, 2021 meeting minutes. The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Trey Ambrose, Howard Ackerman, Anne Esposito, Leslie Adlam Flory, Chris Butler and Ian Scott.

The minutes were approved as distributed.

AGAINST – None. ABSENT – James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

# Public Comments

There were no public comments offered.

# Director's Report - Beaufort Executive Airport Update

- ✤ <u>BEAUFORT EXECUTIVE AIRPORT RECOGNITION & AWARDS</u>:
  - Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on Mr. Paul Jernigan's-Employee Recognition at County Council for his exceptional service and work at the airport.
  - Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on Mr. Gary Davy who received the FAA Charles Taylor Master Mechanic Award which recognizes the lifetime accomplishments of senior mechanics. Mr. Davy has 50 years as an airport certified aircraft mechanic.

#### ✤ <u>BEAUFORT EXECUTIVE AIRPORT FUEL</u>:

• Mr. Dolin briefed the board members on fuel sales being the highest ever for ARW in the Month of October. Air traffic flow has been busy at the airport.

# ✤ <u>BEAUFORT EXECUTIVE AIRPORT TERMINAL</u>:

• Mr. Dolin briefed the board members on the re-starting of the terminal renovation and the newly installed LED lighting in all but one hangar. The sewer line has been tied in and has been regraded and reseeded. The generator project funded by FEMA is fifty percent complete and the other generator needs to be tied in, ARW is just waiting on a part.

Director's Report - Hilton Head Island Airport Update

- ✤ <u>ARFF OBTAINED NEW EQUIPMENT:</u>
  - Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on ARFF receiving new equipment ("Jaws of life") they also received the proper training via the product vendor. In the event an emergency arises they are well equipped to take on the task.

# ✤ <u>HILTON HEAD AIRPORT NEW HIRE:</u>

• Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on the new airport Administrative Assistant Nathalie Numssen coming on board.

# ✤ <u>PROJECTS</u>:

- Mr. Rembold gave the latest information on the progress of HXD's current project at the terminal. The land for the new apron expansion area has been cleared and prepped for the new ramp.
- ✤ <u>CONCOURS D'ELEGANCE & MOTORING FESTIVAL NOVEMBER 5-7, 2021</u>:
  - Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on Concours D'Elegance & Motoring Festival automotive exhibition held at Hilton Head Airport. Due to the weather this event was mostly rained out. Even though the weather was not cooperating they still managed to have the Gala event on the first day.

# ✤ <u>AIRPORTS BUDGET</u>:

• Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on preparing for the upcoming airport budget approval.

# Unfinished Business

# N/A

#### New Business

# 1. MOTION TO APPROVE AIRPORT CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM AT BOTH AIRPORTS

A Motion was made by Howard Ackerman to move forward the Airport Capital Improvement Program (ACIP), seconded by Chris Butler. The vote was FOR – Trey Ambrose, Anne Esposito, Leslie Adlam Flory and Ian Scott.

AGAINST – None. ABSENT- James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

#### THE MOTION FOR APPROVAL PASSES.

# 2. <u>MOTION TO APPROVE APPLICATION FOR AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN ACT GRANTS FUNDS</u> <u>AT BOTH AIRPORTS</u>

A Motion was made by Anne Esposito to move forward the Application for American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Grants Funds, seconded by Chris Butler. The vote was FOR – Trey Ambrose, Howard Ackerman, Leslie Adlam Flory and Ian Scott.

AGAINST – None. ABSENT- James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

#### THE MOTION FOR APPROVAL PASSES.

#### Chairman Update

#### 1. Finance Committee

Members: Howard Ackerman (Chair), Anne Esposito, Chris Butler and Brian Turrisi.

• The Finance Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

#### 2. Communications and Marketing

Members: Jim Buckley (Chair), Brian Turrisi and Leslie Adlam Flory.

• The Communications and Marketing Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

#### 3. <u>Passenger Service Committee</u>

Members: Leslie Adlam Flory (Chair) and Anne Esposito.

• The Passenger Service Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any further developments.

#### 4. ARW Facilities Use and Improvement

Members: Chris Butler (Chair), Mark Bailey and Trey Ambrose

The ARW Facilities Use and Improvement Committee Chair has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

#### 5. <u>The Hilton Head Island Airport General Aviation Improvement Committee</u>

Members: Howard Ackerman and Brian Turrisi.

This Committee will focus on improvements to the General Aviation side of HXD.

• The Hilton Head Island General Aviation Improvement Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

Public Comments

N/A

Next Meeting

Please like and share our <u>Facebook page</u> & <u>Instagram page</u>. Check out our <u>Website</u> page as well.

Motion to adjourn was made at 2:11 pm and was passed unanimously.