# **MINUTES**

## Beaufort County Airports Board

March 18, 2021 | 1:30 pm | WebEx Meeting called to order by Chairman Howard Ackerman

#### In Attendance

Howard Ackerman, Dan Ahern, Anne Esposito, Leslie Adlam Flory, Trey Ambrose, Chris Butler, Brian Turrisi, James Buckley, Mark Bailey, Ian Scott, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

Absent: None.

County Staff: Jon Rembold, Airports Director; Stephen Parry, Assistant Airports Director; Paul Dolin, Beaufort Executive Airport Supervisor; Elena Milbrandt, Airports Administrative Assistant.

Stewart Rodman - Beaufort County Council member

Public: Glenn Stanford – Town of Hilton Head Island Council Member, David Ames - Town Council liaison to Airports Board; Judy Elder – Talbert, Bright and Ellington and Ben Klimko – Signature Flight Support.

## Approval of Agenda

Motion: Mr. Ackerman made a motion to accept the agenda. The vote was FOR – Howard Ackerman, Dan Ahern, Anne Esposito, Trey Ambrose, Mark Bailey, Leslie Adlam Flory, Brian Turrisi, Chris Butler, James Buckley, Ian Scott, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan. The agenda was approved as distributed.

AGAINST - None. ABSENT - None.

## Approval of Minutes

Motion: Mr. Ackerman made a motion to accept February 18, 2021 meeting minutes. The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Howard Ackerman, Anne Esposito, Chris Butler, Dan Ahern, Trey Ambrose, Mark Bailey, Leslie Adlam Flory, Brian Turrisi, James Buckley, Ian Scott, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

The minutes were approved as distributed.

AGAINST - None. ABSENT - None.

## **Public Comments**

There were no public comments offered.

## Director's Report - Beaufort Executive Airport Update

## ❖ PAUL DOLIN, BEAUFORT COUNTY AIRPORT SUPERVISOR UPDATE:

o Mr. Dolin briefed the board members on proposed projects at the airport.

Charts were previously submitted for AvGas, Jet A sales and aircraft operations.

## Director's Report – Hilton Head Island Airport Update

#### **❖** LEGISLATIVE PRIORITIES:

o Mr. Rembold briefed the board members regarding the legislative priorities.

## **❖** ARBOR NATURE CLASS 2 C&D:

o Mr. Rembold brought the board members up to date on the progress of this project's approval. More details to follow.

## **❖** HILTON HEAD ISLAND AIRPORT SURVEYS:

- o Mr. Rembold shared with the board members information about In-person surveys at Hilton Head Airport. More information to follow.
- ❖ SCAA ANNUAL CONFERENCE (February 24-26, 2021):
  - o Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on the SCAA Annual Conference updates.

#### **SPEAKING ENGAGEMENT:**

- o Mr. Rembold briefed the board members on two speaking opportunities held at:
  - The Rotary Club of Hilton Head Island-Van Landingham
  - Hilton Head Island Bluffton Chamber Public Policy Committee

#### **❖** <u>SCASD GRANT APPLICATION</u>:

 Mr. Rembold updated the board members concerning the SCASD grant application. More details to follow.

## **RECOGNITION**:

- Mr. Rembold expressed a heartfelt thank you to Dan Ahern for receiving the prestigious Wright Brothers Master Pilot award from the Federal Aviation Administration for 50 years of safe flying.
- Mr. Rembold also congratulated Chuck Copley for receiving the Wright Brothers Master Pilot
  2020 SC GA Flight Instructor of the Year awards.

Charts were previously submitted for AvGas, Jet A sales, Total Aircraft Operations and Enplanements.

/Deplanements.

#### **Unfinished Business**

N/A

### **New Business**

## MOTION TO APPROVE FY 2022 BUDGET

A Motion was made by Trey Ambrose to approve the FY 2022 Budget Approval, seconded by Brian Turrisi. The <u>vote was FOR</u> – Howard Ackerman, Dan Ahern, Anne Esposito, Chris Butler, Leslie Adlam Flory, Mark Bailey, Brian Turrisi, James Buckley, Trey Ambrose, Ian Scott, Nicholas Mesenburg and Thomas Sheahan.

AGAINST - None. ABSENT- None.

THE MOTION FOR APPROVAL PASSES.

## Chairman Update

Mr. Ackerman thanked Mr. Ahern for many years of service to the Board and welcomed Mr. Nicholas Mesenburg as a new member.

#### 1. Finance Committee

Members: Howard Ackerman (Chair), Anne Esposito, Chris Butler and Brian Turrisi.

◆ The Finance Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

#### 2. Communications and Marketing

Members: Jim Buckley (Chair), Brian Turrisi and Leslie Adlam Flory.

◆ The Communications and Marketing Committee submitted a report to Mr. Rembold and Mr. Ackerman recommending some actions to enhance the Hilton Head Island Airport. More details will follow.

#### 3. Passenger Service Committee

Members: Leslie Adlam Flory (Chair) and Anne Esposito.

◆ The Passenger Service Committee will hold a Welcome package event at the Hilton Head Island Airport for passengers during RBC week in April. They will keep the board informed of any further developments.

## 4. ARW Facilities Use and Improvement

Members: Chris Butler (Chair), Mark Bailey and Trey Ambrose

The ARW Facilities Use and Improvement Committee Chair has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

## 5. The Hilton Head Island Airport General Aviation Improvement Committee

Members: Howard Ackerman and Brian Turrisi.

This Committee will focus on improvements to the General Aviation side of HXD.

◆ The Hilton Head Island General Aviation Improvement Committee has nothing new to report this month. They will keep the board informed of any new developments.

#### **Public Comments**

Public comment was given by Mr. Glenn Stanford and David Ames.

#### Next Meeting

May 20, 2021 1:30 pm | WebEx Meeting | For more information, please click here:

www.beaufortcountysc.gov/events/2021/05/Airports%20Board%202021-05-20.html

#### Contact us –Social Media

Please like and share our <u>Facebook page</u> & <u>Instagram page</u>. Check out our <u>Website</u> page as well.

Motion to adjourn was made at 2:35 pm and was passed unanimously.