



COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY

ADMINISTRATION BUILDING BEAUFORT COUNTY GOVERNMENT ROBERT SMALLS COMPLEX 100 RIBAUT ROAD

> POST OFFICE DRAWER 1228 BEAUFORT, SOUTH CAROLINA 29901-1228 TELEPHONE: (843) 255-2180

STEWART H. RODMAN www.bcgov.net CHAIRMAN

JOHN L. WEAVER INTERIM COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

> CONNIE L. SCHROYER CLERK TO COUNCIL

D. PAUL SOMMERVILLE VICE CHAIRMAN

COUNCIL MEMBERS

MICHAEL E. COVERT GERALD DAWSON BRIAN E. FLEWELLING YORK GLOVER, SR. CHRIS HERVOCHON ALICE G. HOWARD MARK LAWSON LAWRENCE P. MCELYNN JOSEPH F. PASSIMENT, JR.

AGENDA COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY **CAUCUS**

> Monday, January 14, 2019 5:00 p.m.

Executive Conference Room, Administration Building Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort

1. Call to Order 5:00 p.m.

- **Pledge of Allegiance**
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Caucus
 - A. Discussion / Council Member Voting Priviledges During Committee Meetings
 - B. Discussion / Various 2019 Council Matters
 - C. Update / Administrator Search
 - D. Update / Strategic Planning Retreat
- 5. Adjournment







ADD-ONS

The document(s) herein were provided to Council for information and/or discussion after release of the official agenda and backup items.

Topic: 2019-2020 Council Committee Assignments

Date Submitted: January 14, 2019

Submitted by: John Weaver Venue: Council Caucus

COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY

ADMINISTRATION BUILDING BEAUFORT COUNTY GOVERNMENT ROBERT SMALLS COMPLEX 100 RIBAUT ROAD

POST OFFICE DRAWER 1228 BEAUFORT, SOUTH CAROLINA 29901-1228

TELEPHONE: (843) 255-2180

www.bcgov.net

JOHN L. WEAVER INTERIM COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

> CONNIE L. SCHROYER CLERK TO COUNCIL

STEWART H. RODMAN CHAIRMAN

D. PAUL SOMMERVILLE VICE CHAIRMAN

COUNCIL MEMBERS

MICHAEL E. COVERT GERALD DAWSON BRIAN E. FLEWELLING YORK GLOVER, SR. CHRIS HERVOCHON ALICE G. HOWARD MARK LAWSON LAWRENCE P. MCELYNN JOSEPH F. PASSIMENT, JR.

2019 - 2020

COUNCIL COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

COMMUNITY SERVICES

Lawrence McElynn, Chairman Michael Covert, Vice Chairman Gerald Dawson, Member York Glover, Member Chris Hervochon, Member

GOVERNMENTAL

Paul Sommerville, Chairman Mark Lawson, Vice Chairman Brian Flewelling, Member Alice Howard, Member Lawrence McElynn, Member

PUBLIC FACILITIES

Brian Flewelling, Chairman York Glover, Vice Chairman Michael Covert, Member Mark Lawson, Member Joe Passiment, Member

FINANCE

Joseph Passiment, Chairman Chris Hervochon, Vice Chairman Gerald Dawson, Member Mark Lawson, Member Paul Sommerville, Member

NATURAL RESOURCES

Alice Howard, Chairman Gerald Dawson, Vice Chairman Michael Covert, Member York Glover, Member Chris Hervochon, Member

EXECUTIVE

Stewart Rodman, Chairman Brian Flewelling, Vice Chairman Alice Howard, Member Lawrence McElynn, Member Joe Passiment, Member Paul Sommerville, Member

All members of Council who are not assigned as a named member of a particular committee (excluding the Executive Committee) shall be considered as ex-officio members of each committee and shall be entitled to vote on issues requiring a decision and/or recommendation.

Issues for Discussion By/With Council for 2019

- 1. Jenkins Island Rob McFee
- 2. Sales Tax Pathways Rob McFee
- 3. Osprey Point Development Agreement Tom Keaveny
- 4. Fire Districts (5) Alicia Holland Lady's Island/St. Helena; Burton; Sheldon, Bluffton; Daufuskie Island
- 5. Special Purpose Tax Districts Alicia Holland & Jim Beckert
- 6. Extra Grass Cuttings / ATAX Dollars Rob McFee
- 7. DHEC Building / VA Location / City of Beaufort lease Joh Weaver
- 8. Employee Pay Issues / City v. County scale John Weaver/S. Gregory
 - a. Recent Increases
 - b. Vacancies
 - c. Budget Director
 - d. FY20 Budget COLA / Consultant report / Leave Policy / Holidays
- 9. Organizational Chart
- 10. Council Rules and Procedures and other miscellaneous options Resolutions vs. Ordinances Code of Ordinances: a) Beaufort Co.; b) Horry Co.; c) Lancaster Co.
- 11. County Transportation Committee (CTC) 1/28 Caucus Kraig Gordon, Chairman (843-757-8719)