

Beaufort County Northern Regional Plan Implementation Committee Meeting

Chairman

MIKE TOMY

Vice Chairman

ED PAPPAS

Committee Members

JERRY ASHMORE
EARL CAMPBELL
COLIN MOORE
GERALD DAWSON
BRIAN FLEWELLING
YORK GLOVER
ALICE HOWARD
BILLY KEYSERLING
MIKE MCFEE
JOE DEVITO

County Administrator

ASHLEY M. JACOBS

Staff Support

ERIC GREENWAY ROBERT MERCHANT

Administration Building

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex 100 Ribaut Road

Contact

Post Office Drawer 1228
Beaufort, South Carolina 299901-1228
(843) 255-2140
www.beaufortcountysc.gov

Beaufort County Northern Regional Plan Implementation Committee Agenda

Friday, February 28, 2020, 9:30 a.m.

Executive Conference Room, Administration Building Robert Smalls Complex, 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 3. FOIA PUBLIC NOTIFICATION OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN PUBLISHED, POSTED, AND DISTRIBUTED IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE SOUTH CAROLINA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT.
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES January 24, 2020
- APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA
- ATTENDEE INTRODUCTIONS
- 7. CITIZEN COMMENTS (Comments are limited to 3 minutes.)

ACTION ITEMS

- 8. GLENN WALTERS, DESIGN WORKSHOP CONSULTANT PRESENTATION REGARDING UPDATE TO BEAUFORT COUNTY COMPREHENSIVE PLAN
- 9. LADY'S ISLAND PLAN IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE TASK FORCE FUNDING FOR RFP LI VILLAGE CENTER DEVELOPMENT
- 10. PRIORITIZED LIST OF ITEMS FOR THE NORTHERN BEAUFORT COUNTY REGIONAL PLAN IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE TO ADDRESS IN 2020

DISCUSSION ITEMS

11. ROUND THE TABLE COMMENTS

NEW / OTHER BUSINESS

- 12. THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING IS SCHEDULED FOR FRIDAY, MARCH 27, 2020, 9:30 A.M., EXECUTIVE CONFERENCE ROOM, BEAUFORT COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 100 RIBAUT ROAD, BEAUFORT, SC.
- 13. ADJOURNMENT

Northern Beaufort County Regional Plan Implementation Committee Executive Conference Room, Beaufort County Administration Building 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, SC 29902

Meeting Minutes

Friday, January 24, 2020, 9:30 a.m.

ATTENDANCE

Members Present: Mike Tomy, MPC Chairman (Chairman); Joe DeVito, Town of Port Royal Mayor; Alice Howard, Beaufort County Council; Mike McFee, City of Beaufort Mayor Pro Tem; Mr. Ed Pappas, Beaufort County Planning Commission Chairman (Vice Chairman); Jerry Ashmore, Town of Port Royal Council; Stephen Murray III, City of Beaufort Council; and Gerald Dawson, Beaufort County Council.

Members Absent: York Glover, Lowcountry Council of Governments; Colin Moore, Town of Yemassee Mayor; Brian Flewelling, Beaufort County Council; Billy Keyserling, City of Beaufort Mayor; and Earl Campbell, Beaufort County School Board Chair.

Staff Present: Eric Greenway, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department Director; Robert Merchant, Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department Deputy Director; Noah Krepps, Beaufort County Long Range Planner; and Diane McMaster, Beaufort County Community Development Senior Administrative Specialist.

Other Attendees: Dave Prichard, City of Beaufort Community and Economic Development Director; Ginnie Kozak, Lowcountry Council of Governments Planning and Transportation Director; Rikki Parker, Coastal Conservation League; Linda Bridges, Town of Port Royal Planning; and Juliana Smith, Coastal Conservation League.

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: Chairman Mike Tomy called the Northern Regional Plan Implementation Committee (NRPIC) meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Chairman Mike Tomy led those assembled in the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>CITIZEN COMMENTS</u>: There were none.

REVIEW OF MINUTES: The November 22, 2019, meeting minutes were reviewed. The motion to approve the minutes as submitted passed with Mr. Joe DeVito and Mr. Jerry Ashmore abstaining.

ACTION ITEMS: The Committee welcomed Mr. Joe DeVito, Town of Port Royal Mayor.

Councilwoman Alice Howard made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ed Pappas, to contact a member of the Southern Lowcountry Regional Board (SoLoCo) to arrange a meeting date between the two (2) groups. There was unanimous support for the motion.

Councilwoman Alice Howard shared her list of action items to be addressed and prioritized with the Committee members which led to discussion and additional topics being added to her original list:

- Housing Trust Fund recommendations how to implement north of the Broad
- ID future unincorporated areas for curbside pick-up & how municipalities may work with County
- Stormwater future compliance and incorporate septic tank restrictions in Lady's Island Code & elsewhere
- Uniform yard waste policy
- Improvements to plastic bag ban recycling what is next?
- Public meetings on convenience centers
- Pathways Spanish Moss Trail and identify other needs
- Local sales tax discussion
- Consolidated fire service, parks/recreation, and boat ramps
- Utility pollution (removal of old utility poles)
- Lady's Island Plan Implementation Committee
- Revise Northern Regional Plan mandate
- Workforce development
- Direction of Growth Development

Mr. Robert Merchant spoke regarding the County Bicycle and Pedestrian Task Force and their recent work in conjunction with the County's Comprehensive Plan update.

There was discussion directed toward efforts to "re-invite" Town of Yemassee and Beaufort County School District officials to the monthly NRPIC meetings.

The 2020 NRPIC Meeting Schedule was approved with a motion by Mr. Mike McFee requesting a February 28, 2020, meeting due to the number of action items currently being considered by the Committee. It was also agreed to schedule special meetings, when required by pending action items, after the scheduled March 27, 2020, meeting. Mr. McFee's motion was seconded by Councilwoman Alice Howard and received unanimous approval.

Chairman Mike Tomy requested that former Metropolitan Planning Commission members, Mr. Robert Semmler and Mr. Bill Harris, be recognized at an upcoming Council meeting for their contributions to the City of Beaufort and Beaufort County.

<u>OTHER BUSINESS</u>: The next regular meeting is scheduled for Friday, March 27, 2020, at 9:30 a.m., Executive Conference Room, Beaufort County Administration Building, 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, SC.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: Chairman Mike Tomy adjourned the meeting at 10:37 a.m. There were no objections from Committee members.